Oh, that Portland!

For those of us Oregonians who live in the hinterlands – and some of us do – an occasional trip to The City is de regueur.  Everyone knows where you’re going to go – The City in Oregon is only one place, Portland.  Actually, Eugene is closer to us than Portland, but no one would make the mistake of calling Eugene a city.  Maybe map makers, the Chamber of Commerce, and a few elected officials, but no ordinary folks!

And when we feel the urban urge, one of the first things that comes to mind is food.  Now that the outside world is beginning to realize what we locals have felt for sometime – that there are some very exciting things happening culinarily in Portland – we sure don’t want our trip to The City to be a wasted eating experience.  But how is an infrequent visitor to keep up on the often quickly changing food venue in The City?  Ahh, … one needs an assisting device of some sort – and i have a good one to suggest.

Today, I have added the site, portlandfood.org to my sidebar here.  Now, as you may have determined by clicking on the few select choices that you’ll find there, these sidebar inclusions are only there because I either really like them, or they reflect my personality (even if I don’t like them).  The reason I’ve included portlandfood.org is because it’s rather unique.  What makes it unique is that a significant number of its posters – it’s a discussion forum – are either chefs, restaurant owners, or employees, who all seem to know each other, and obviously enjoy each others company and opinions.  There is a great deal of camaraderie at play here, but not enough to discourage the participation of any newbie commenters, just in case you are tempted to join in.  There’s almost always an open invitation to join a group at some current favored locale for a testing repast – just say Yes, and show up.

But I personally think that the prime value afforded here is information.  Let me ask a question:  As a foodie, what’s your prime fear when approaching a new dining environment?  Of course, we will all answer the very same – our fear is that we have a few solid, objective recommendations, and that our recommendations are not outdated, as they so often are.  Well, let me suggest that if you find yourself with plans to visit Portland anytime soon, a little pleasant browsing on this site will set you on a guaranteed no-fail path.

I’m struck with another thought – as a lurker at portlandfood.org, I can sense the intense pleasure which literally exudes from the posts of a chef whose creations have just received high praise from his peers.  I’m wondering if the praise of their peers isn’t more prized than that of the general public, or media reviews!  I would argue yes.

I think currently in Portland there is something both rare and beautiful happening, and that something is that an environment has been created for the highest level of culinary art and creation to occur.  And among the many ingredients that contribute to that environment is the camaraderie of the food community that both motivates and reinforces the artistry at work.  And portlandfood.com is the depository of the record of this fascinating development.

Check it out – portlandfood.org

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Oregon, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

