Pulp Friction

newsstand

I’ve been under the influence of some unfamiliar spirits lately. Whatever their origin, they have influenced me to do unique things, like removing all my collection of assorted printers from the study, where they were awaiting listing and sale on eBay (it’s a long story, and I’m not ready right now to discuss it – another time, perhaps); culling the freezer of “objects” which have long past their point of usefulness – this is strange because spring is the typical season to do this; and strangest of all, a desire to finally do something about the mass of magazines scattered around the house – in various and sundry forms of storage and availability. Our chosen method is the use of baskets to hold the magazines – rather beautiful baskets – Sandee has a thing for nice baskets, so we have many! But a basket can only hold just so many magazines, and a home can only aesthetically absorb so many baskets of magazines before reaching a family breaking point.

I admit having a weakness for magazines, a weakness I’m sure I share with millions of my countrymen – and probably for the very same reasons. Magazines are quick! Often, too quick – after having consumed a magazine’s “snack”, you’re often left unsatisfied and still hungry. Yes, I’m fully aware that this is most often the intent of those who control the magazine industry, but all the same, when you know you’re a “quick” junkie, this is not a completely satisfactory ending.

Magazines are sexy. No, I don’t mean in an XXX way – I mean they are attractive, and therefore appealing – to a sin, at times. How often have you been stopped in your tracks by something on the cover of a magazine on a stand? Of course – that’s exactly what you were supposed to do. But, sadly, all too often, the promise on the cover is not equal to the delivery on the inside. Duped again – it leaves one with the suspicion that the magazine maker’s sense is that once you trade your money for the magazine with the beautiful cover, their responsibility ends!

And I’d like to say that another characteristic of magazines is that they’re cheap – I’d like to, but I can’t. In fact, the cover price of a magazine today is simply absurd. Who the hell in their right mind is going to pay $8.00 for a magazine that, once read, is now worth nothing? Few, that’s who. And they didn’t even spend a penny in postage getting it to you! At the same time that buying that magazine on the newsstand at the airport will cost you $8.00, you can probably get a year’s subscription to it (requires a careful web search!) for the same price. And if you really want to get an idea of the true value of magazines, go online to eBay and pick up someone’s collection of the last 5 years of a magazine you’d love to peruse, and maybe pay 25 cents a copy, including shipping. If you try this, and you don’t find the magazine you’re looking for listed, it’s not because no one has them to sell, it’s because no one will buy them – essentially, they’re worthless!

img_1196_1

As I look at my current collection of magazines, I’m well aware if I listed them all on eBay, I wind up in the hole – my listing fees would total more than my income. I know I have only two, maybe three, magazine titles that could generate enough interest to bring a decent return – and by decent, I mean maybe 50 cents each after fees, etc. – and then there’s shipping!  In the end, it’s not even worth the effort.

These magazines really do cause me a dilemma – actually, it’s only the ones which I could sell on eBay that I’d even want to store and keep – hummm – do you suppose I should think about that a bit?  Knowing that the others are near worthless is tempting me to either pitch them, or offer them to my favorite thrift shop – and it wouldn’t surprise me if they refused to take them!

Anybody want a bunch of wonderful magazines for just the shipping cost alone? No … I didn’t think so.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Opinion, Philosophy, and Assorted BS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

