Never … the bottom of the bottle!

Never pay more than $5 for a bottle of wine with a flat bottom!

The subject of wine – and buying wine – came up recently, and I started thinking about what never to do with wine.  And this came to mind – the shape of the bottle can tell you a lot about the wine.  For a long, long time now, I’ve been testing the theory that no winemaker is going to put a cheap wine in an expensive bottle, and visa-versa.  And I’ve come to a firm belief, Never pay more than $5 for a bottle of wine with a flat bottom.

OK, $5 is a pretty low bar to set, but timing is an important thing – so now that we are obviously entering a recession, I’m expecting the price of all wine to start coming down.  And I buy most of my wine at Grocery Outlet, so this is not so hard to apply – Hey, give me a break, I live on a retiree’s budget.

What is that damn indentation on a wine bottle for anyway?  Strangely, no one really seems to  know.  Maybe it was once necessary to strengthen the bottle – but admittedly it exists today because wine makers know that wine drinkers ASSUME that all good wine comes in indented bottles.  So the argument is even stronger than I first thought – it’s also true because it’s a self-fullfilling prophecy – it’s true because everyone thinks it’s true, and the winemaker can’t afford not to!

 

What the hell – now that we’re suffering thru a recession, don’t bother with the flat bottom wine at all – you should find some wonderful stuff with a punted bottom (the indentation is called a punt by wine makers) for $5!

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Never, Never List and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Never … the bottom of the bottle!

  1. finspot says:

    Doctor, thanks for explaining the punt. Can you list some good $5 wines?

  2. drfugawe says:

    Hey Finny,
    Thanks for visiting! Tough question you pose – and the reason is because most of my wine buying is done at Grocery Outlet, where the good stuff goes fast; it’s never there when you go back to get more. But I do find some consistency in very drinkable wines from Austrailia, South Africa, and Chile, often at the $5 level. But I also try to stay away from whites because I think most of them show up there because they’re old. So the reds tend to be the better bets.

    Most of the time I kind’a feel like the wine buyer for Trader Joe’s, when he was asked what was the hardest part of his job, “Well, do you know how much lousy wine I have to drink while trying to find the good ones?”
    drfugawe

Leave a Reply

