Cookies, Cookies, Everywhere

cherry1_1

OK, three days of cookie baking is enough for a family of two – certainly enough to last us through the New Year (I mean the day, not the entire year – although …). Every inch of space in the kitchen is piled up with cookies! But as I have said, the bulk of these are for giving, and I was serious. And quite frankly, I’m getting tired of cookie making, so I’ll be happy to be done.

Today’s final Christmas cookie is an old family favorite, a Coconut Butter cookie, that was found long ago in a classic southern cookbook, “Cotton Country”. I had planned all along this year to make this cookie – I make them smaller than the recipe suggests, and then I put a half of a Maraschino cherry on each cookie – gives it a very Christmasy look. But when I pulled the book down and took a look at the recipe for the Coconut Cookies, you could have knocked me over with a feather – not only was this recipe basically the exact same one as the Swedish Butter Cookie we made the day before, but it was calling for the exact same amount of ingredients! The only difference was that the Coconut Cookies called for a teaspoon of vanilla, and of course, some coconut. Talk about roots and tradition.

cherry2_1Well, if you’d like to make some Coconut Cookies like in the pic, it’s pretty damn simple – just make the basic Swedish Butter Cookies, and add a teaspoon of vanilla and three ounces of coconut (the sweetened stuff at the grocery is fine, but the frozen coconut has much more flavor.). That’s it; just follow the recipe otherwise. Oh yeah, I flattened the walnut sized balls with my finger tips and added a half cherry on top. And if you wanted them to look even more Christmasy, you could sprinkle them with confectioner sugar – that’s a nice touch.

coconut1_1

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you – if anything, these Coconut Cookies are even better than the Swedish Butter Cookies! And don’t worry about them being too much like each other – they present as two very different cookies, especially if you sprinkle the Coconut ones with powdered sugar. And if you want to play around with them, try putting a Hershey’s Kiss (unwrapped is better) on top of each cookie – or a whole nut; use your imagination.

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cookies, Cookies, Everywhere

  1. Andrew Maki says:

    I am sold on the coconut cookies. What about using coconut flakes and adding rough chopped almonds to the dough? This would result in a cookie with a lot more tooth, and a lot more texture. Just an idea!

    Cheers!
    Andrew
    http://www.deliciousattack.com

  2. drfugawe says:

    Hey, go for it, Andrew – the dough is really a wonderful base to do almost anything.

    Thanks for visiting.

  3. Finspot says:

    Doc, have you ever made candycap cookies?

  4. drfugawe says:

    No, Fin – never been lucky enough to come on some real candy caps – came close last year when my pickin’ buddy and I made a field ID of what we thought was candy cap, but when I got home I keyed it out on MD, and it didn’t pass. All I really remember about that trip was that it was hell picking all those little things! And then we pitched ’em.

Leave a Reply

