A Yeast For the Road

Have I ever mentioned how much I love to drive?  Yup, I do – often think that if things hadn’t worked out the way they did for me (I’m a very fatalistic individual, but not of the religious ilk; more along the lines of “making your own good luck”!), I may have become an over-the-road truck driver.  So, from that perspective, I loved the 9 day trip we just took.  But, unfortunately, my body doesn’t agree – it may take me another 9 days to recuperate!

But -thank god- that’s over.  And now I can start re-learning how to get around the city (Jacksonville FL – hereafter called Jax).  It’s simply amazing to me how someone could spend almost 15 years in a place, and then forget all about the physical layout to the point of not being able to remember much at all.  For those of you who are too young to know this first hand, just let me suggest that it ain’t such a shock to old folks!  I have found a great way to bring it all back, though – using Google Maps, and simply dropping in to any location with a zoom view, and then moving down a once familar street – and it amazingly rushes back into your brain!  Great fun too.

I like Google Maps for this better than Mapquest (although in all honesty, because I had problems editing my trip schedule in Mapquest, and had to switch to Google Maps early on, I don’t remember if Mapquest’s zoom view includes area businesses as Google Maps does (No, it doesn’t) – I’m quite sure this is another way Google makes more money, but in my case, it sure did add a specificity that made the task easy to remember.

Well, of course, I brought my sourdough starter along on this adventure, and fully intended to refresh it regularly – But … it got lost in the packing glut, and only 10 days later did I open the lid – of course it looked terrible – slack, dull, and paste like – I feared the worst – for the first two days of refreshing, there was no activity at all – but day three I started to see a few bubbles.  And the next day, it absolutely exploded into full life and pungent aroma – if anything, I think it’s better for the experience!  Actually, I don’t think we bakers fully understand just how hearty those sourdough yeasts and bacteria truly are!  Welcome back Grapplestein.

I’m going to be moving into cooking/baking high gear soon, as I’m starting to run out of immediate tasks, and I’ll be looking for entertainment – and I intend to introduce Melanie -our local hostess and daughter- to a few of the low labor but highly delicious breads that can be done with sourdough.  Her job is such that she doesn’t have a lot of spare time to play in the kitchen as I do – but as we know, many of the long fermenting sourdough loaves are perfect for a “set and forget” approach – so we’ll start with those.

Before signing off today, I want to introduce you to Oliver, our Granddog.  He’s a handsome, if overweight brute, but the perfect guarantee of personal and property security that every young single gal needs when living in the big city.  Yes, he’s sometimes a bit noisy when he’s doing his job, but that’s a small price to pay for the good feeling of security that Oliver brings.  Although once he knows you, he’s a great and obedient dog friend, I’d hate to be on the wrong end of his wrath!

Good Doggie.

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Baking, Travel Tales and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Yeast For the Road

  1. Mimi says:

    That dog is really cute, but I don’t think I’d like to piss him off, he’s built like a security system!

    Sourdough loves to travel. It must be it’s pioneer roots.

    Please visit my blog when you have a minute, there is an award waiting for you.

  2. drfugawe says:

    You’re a good person, Mimi – thanks much for including me among your blogging friends.

    I’m building my first “Florida” loaf right now with the traveling starter – I think you may be correct about sourdough being made for traveling – mine has a little “Carl Griffith” heritage – maybe it remembers!

    Thanks Mimi,
    jm

Leave a Reply

