A Very Special Christmas Guest

It’s Christmas eve here, and it’s already a significant day for two reasons: first, it was our first rainless day in weeks!  And it was in the 60s today – as you may know, California is getting drenched big time right now – and as the rain moves in from the Pacific, it pushes the nice warm air up and out of California – Damn! We just hate it when we get California’s nice weather.  NOT!

Second reason – we had a very special guest today

Not the greatest of pictures – Hey, I don’t do so well with objects that don’t move!  But the half minute before I took this shot, this turkey was looking into our French door – they’re really getting bold, and I fear for them.  There’s a whole flock of about 10-12 birds, and they just wander the whole neighborhood.  They are almost tame!  I’ve often wondered how many wind up as somebody’s dinner each year?

But we did appreciate the special Christmas eve visit – of course, I invited her in for some wassail, but she said she had lots to do and couldn’t spare the time.

Hope you all are enjoying your own special Christmas, and your wassail too.

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Musings and Mutterings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Very Special Christmas Guest

  1. Brave new world that has wild turkeys roaming the porches. Nothing like the local wildlife to bring it home that you live somewhere quite different 😉

  2. Melissa says:

    Do they eat slugs like the ducks do? Maybe you should ask him to stay!

  3. drfugawe says:

    Indeed! I think slugs are a mainstay of their diet – and when they visit, which is about once each week, they do so in a large herd – maybe 10 or 12 of them. I think they may also munch on my tender buds and leaves of the garden plants, but I’m OK with that.

    Thanks for visiting, Melissa – you are always welcome (just like the turkeys!!)

Leave a Reply

