Spring is Here – It’s a New Day!

As you might have noticed, the blog has a new look. Initially, this change came about because for some strange reason, the text area on my old blog seemed to be squeezed to the middle of the page. Maybe it was me, but everything looked distorted and compressed. I have no idea why – I’ve never tried to learn the ‘hows and whys’ of WordPress – but I assumed that the distortion had something to do with the layout of the WordPress theme I was using – now that theme, Misty Look, served me very well over the past several years of my blogging, but I’ve always wondered why it had so much apparently wasted space on the left hand side of the page! And as I readied to raise the blog from its slumber, I swear the appearance of the page looked even more compressed – so, a switch was in order.

At the risk of having you think less of me, when I began blogging, I choose the Misty Look theme not because of any neat or sophisticated features, but because of the attractive banner picture that came by default along with that theme. Only later, did I start to learn the various features of Misty Look, none of which has ever caused me regret, except now with its apparent compressed look.

And so it was that I began to look at the many choices of themes available for consideration on WordPress (are there thousands?) – and I discovered an amazing tool on the WP theme page – in the task of considering a theme that will best fit your blog, the WP theme page includes a preview feature, and if you click preview, you immediately see your blog home page displayed under the new theme – Amazing!

Well, because of the ease of checking out a new theme on my old blog, I went through dozens – maybe more – and suddenly I realized why I should have done this when I first started blogging. On each new theme candidate, I would see at least one or two features that just weren’t right for my blog. Over and over, and over again, I saw things I just didn’t like. Slowly, I even began to recognize that a cutesy picture banner wasn’t necessarily required. And as you’ll notice here, there is nothing cutesy about this chosen theme, which BTW is called, The Journalist v1.9.

So why did I choose this theme? Well, the name itself is irresistible to those of us who like to pretend at being a writer – surely it will make me more professional. And it’s described as being a ‘minimalist’ theme, and I like to think of myself as a minimalist person (I’m still trying to decide if I’m really a minimalist, or just lazy.). I also liked the fact that it didn’t have any cutesy banner picture at all – it’s no secret that I don’t really like the picture part of blogging -but that’s not because I don’t like pictures- I love the great pics other bloggers put up – I just don’t much like the aggravation of trying to take decent photos – it’s especially disconcerting to watch your dinner get cold while you fuss with getting a proper photo – well, this theme sort of suggests to writer and reader alike that not having photos is perfectly fine (as in the case of this very post!). All those reasons and the fact that it includes all those elements I want in a blog theme, and it looks nice and clean and neat in the process.

Now if you hate it, by all means please somehow let me know – you do have a part in all this, and I appreciate your role. I do best with a straightforward 2×4 to the ear, along the lines of, ‘Doc, what were you thinking?’ Regardless of what my wife may say, my mind can be changed – this is done best by words of gentle encouragement, such as, ‘Now, you’re more intelligent than that, Doc!’ – OK, you get the idea – just don’t use any of those subtle suggestions – they go right over my head.

That banner picture on Misty Look was really nice, wasn’t it! Hummm …

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Musings and Mutterings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spring is Here – It’s a New Day!

  1. Glenda says:

    Doc
    I think the lack of pictures is a brave move. We have an ex poitician who once famously said, ‘don’t over estimate the inteligence of the voting public’…

    • drfugawe says:

      If it sounded like I’ll NEVER have any pics, I didn’t really mean that – I’ll have some photos, cause I know that always adds appeal to a post – I really was speaking more of the lack of a banner pic, and of course, my own personal dislike of the whole photo procedure, which I’m sure -in part- contributed to my sabbatical.

  2. Don’t need fancy-schmancy. Just need your thoughts, ideas, recommendations, recipes, wit and help.

  3. Joanna says:

    I like pictures, but I also like headings and bullet points and other ways to break up text. I have been putting together a private blog for my sister and we were using a theme called Manifest which is another of the more minimalist ones.

    Now I seem to remember Nils’ blog uses the Journalist theme and he would post a few pictures of his loaves as he went along, I always thought it looked very smart myself. I am constantly tempted to change themes like you, but strange things happen to old posts, particularly ones with big photos and I hate the sorting out and reformatting that is inevitable when you swap themes. By the way here is a link to Nils blog in case you want to see it used somewhere else http://theinversecook.wordpress.com/

    (You could have uploaded a different banner pic to Misty if you had wanted to, so if you want to go back, I can help you with that – it’s in the settings if you root around in there but I sense that change is afoot 🙂

    • drfugawe says:

      Well, if I were you, I’d like pics too! You have invested a good deal of time and effort to become well versed in the art – and it shows. I’m sure you understand that I’m not dissing any who go that route – just reflecting on my own persona. I’ve always been like the big kid who has a messy bedroom – but strangely, only in the last few years do I find myself bothered by such things as dish towels that are mis-folded, or items in the fridge that are not neatly and efficiently stored. Don’t know what that’s all about?

      Hmm. I was not aware that when you changed your theme, there was a chance that you would have formatting errors on old posts. WordPress does not admit to that! They clearly state that there will be no problems save that which may be caused by your new theme not having all the features of your last one. Think I’ll check – thanks for the heads-up. Also thanks for the link – I’ll take a look.

  4. tuppercooks says:

    He’s baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaccccckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!!!!!!!!!!

    Glad to see you back in the blogoverse my friend.

    Hey, a lot of times less is more, and your theme works for me.

    There are way too many blogs out there that have lots of style, but no substance.

    Looking fwd. to your upcoming pearls of wisdom!!!

  5. Doc, welcome back! There are so many darn themes on WP aren’t there? It’s hard to sort through them all. This one seems nice, although I personally like photos, but that’s just me.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

