Time For Something New

I bet you feel the same way.  With the new year comes an opportunity for renewal of the human spirit – a time to test our nerve endings and synapses, to see if they still function.  Yeah, we all need that – and all we really need to get moving are a few ideas, a little mental motivation – and I’ve been doing that, especially now that all the holiday madness is done and gone (if you think that just because someone is retired and living with spouse only, that perhaps they no longer get caught up in holiday madness, you’d be wrong!).  And here are my blogging ideas for the new year.

  • A renewal of my once active immersion into America’s Food Secrets – I bet you forgot all about that, didn’t you!  Well, I didn’t do much to avert that happening.  AFS is my look back into the history -scanty as it is- of America’s food culture (every part of the world has a food culture and history – and for those of us who love food, those ‘cultures’ are quite interesting, if not fascinating!).  I’ll try my best to keep it regular with at least a monthly post, but sometimes the research for such posts gets extensive, and I find myself journeying down lost and forgotten back roads of history from which it’s hard to return.  But I’ll try.
  • I’ll also do my best to keep my baking journal moving forward.  The problem with this for me, as a writer, is that my baking is very often simply refining my technique or formula of the same bread!  Unless a reader is moving on the same tract (most unlikely), this can get boring – even for me!
  • Since I run an eclectic blog here, I will keep open the option to occasionally do a post on some dish or dessert which by the whims of fortune just happened to turn out near perfect – and by rare chance, I just happened to take a few pictures of before consuming.  These are not likely scenarios, and so I suspect such posts may be equally rare.

    Our Front Foyer

    Our Front Foyer

  • The entirely new idea for future blog posts came to me as I was recently doing some reading of a few of my cookbook collection – I treat cookbooks as some treat novels, I read them for pleasure – and for ideas.  I have more than 2000 cookbooks, and that means they are everywhere in our house (our interior walls are pretty much ‘insulted’ with books).  However, my investment in these cookbooks is actually minimal, since my prime interest is in classic cookbooks, not the current hot titles – therefore most of my collection has come via eBay, Alibris, or Amazon – all used.  My personal theory is that very few ‘new’ great food ideas are waiting to be discovered – but many old ones are still hidden away just waiting to be re-discovered – like in old cookbooks!

    But I digress – the idea which came to me recently from my pleasure reading of my cookbooks was that there were many hundreds of forgotten but wonderful cookbook authors in the world of cookbooks – some of whom have provided revolutionary contributions to the world of food and eating, others who have taken the tastes of one culture and reworked them into the foods of another to create entirely new dishes, and some who have introduced the well kept secrets of the kitchen to the world.  These individuals are really the heroes and heroines of the world’s collective food culture – and yet most are simply forgotten today.  So I intend to do my part to remedy that ill, by doing an ongoing look at the work of one of these neglected food heroes or heroines – and hopefully such posts will be interesting enough to draw the interest and readership of others.And if not, it will still be great fun -and edification- for myself.

    George Lang -The First of my Cookbook Heroes (Next Post)

    George Lang -The First of my Cookbook Heroes (Next Post)

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Time For Something New

  1. Onwards and upwards, Doc! I think your ideas are fabulous, particularly the last one! There is so much to be learned from the classics! 🙂

  2. Glenda says:

    2,000 cookbooks!!!!!!!!!!!! That is amazing. You don’t know how impressed I am!!!!!
    I sometimes get overwhelmed with the number I have (but that doesn’t stop me buying them) but 2,000! Hooley dooley! I also feel a wee bit guilty having so many when others have so little. It seems so decadent, but I do love them.

    I didn’t forget that you said you were going to do regular posts from your old charity cookbooks. I just thought you might have had a bit of ‘oldtimers’ and forgot yourself:)

    I see Paula Wolfert’s The Cooking of the Eastern Mediterranian on your self (I recognise the spine). I bought it when we were talking about it. I have read it but not cooked from it yet. Some of the American terminology is a bit confusing for me.

    • drfugawe says:

      It may be a bit less impressive when one sees that half that number are packed away in boxes in the attic, and that most of those are community fund raiser types – but I am looking forward to using them in my new efforts – who knows what I’ll dig up!

      You know how I love the subject of cultural language idiosyncrasies, so don’t fail to use me as a resource for ‘American terminology’.

  3. Joanna says:

    Yes to the Cuisine of Hungary! (I hear Michael McIntryre saying “every day is goulash day” in his stand up piece about the spice cupboard.) Yes to all of it, it all aounds great and I always love reading your work. Now to find some enthusiasm somewhere for my own blog… hey ho! x Jo

  4. tuppercooks says:

    Holy moly-2000 cookbooks!!!!! You are my idol!

  5. Doc I love the idea of your house ‘insulated’ by your cook books. It could certainly be worse. 2000 is rather impressive. I’ve wanted to replicate some of the “old classic” recipes for some time that I have about the place, but never seem to get started with it. Maybe when I don’t have a baby holding my leg, four year old guiding my elbow and a seven year old looking over my shoulder it will be time to recreate timeless classics like jellied vegetable salad…maybe.A

Leave a Reply

