Finally, A Fruitcake For Eating

In one of my past lives, I was a social worker for The Florida Department of Developmental Disabilities – aside from the poverty wage, it was a nice job to have at that point in my life – mostly, I spent the day driving from house to house of folks who had requested info on the new federal program, SSI (a rather revolutionary program for the time, which provided monetary support, medical insurance, and services for persons with DD).

Very few of the folks I was visiting sent me away without signing up for the program – in fact, most simply looked unbelivingly at me after my spiel, and asked, “What’s the catch?”  Some did send me away – I think they simply couldn’t believe that the government could be trusted.  They remind me a lot of the seniors today who are fighting the current health care restructuring efforts!

One of my other responsibilities was visiting area group homes – those were also the days when Florida was down-sizing its DD institutions, and moving those folks into the community.  One of the group homes I would visit frequently was a huge old, two story Florida house in Zolfo Springs, run by Bertha Gaskins – Bertha had some eight ladies who lived at her house, and frankly, I always thought they were truly happy there – I know I’da been.

Now Bertha Gaskins was cut out of the old southern mold of housekeeper – she was proud of her cooking and baking skills, and rightly so.  Her ladies ate as well as any other group home residents that I knew of.  And Bertha was not above using food as leverage, whenever she could.  Although we “state workers” knew we were not to accept “gifts”, there never was any such policy about joining everyone for a meal, once in a while.  And I did so at Bertha’s, often.

I remember one day especially well – I popped in about 10 AM, right in the middle of a kitchen frenzy, and a most beautiful baking smell.  “What is that luscious smell?”, I asked – “That’s the beginning of this year’s fruitcakes.”, Mrs Gaskins replied – “We’re doing 25 this year, and so far we’ve done 6.  Sit down, and I’ll give you a taste.”

Mrs Lucile Harvey

I remember that day being one of my taste epiphanies -I have had many- for that day was the first time I ever had a fruitcake that I really enjoyed.  In between the many bites I had that day, Bertha told me that this fruit cake was a relatively famous one called, Mrs Harvey’s White Fruitcake – and from her memory, she jotted down the recipe while we sipped coffee and nibbled on this wonderful cake.  I still have that scribbled recipe – and it’s prized – but even if I lose it, I know where to get a replacement, ’cause Mrs Harvey’s White Fruitcake is famous today, and rightly so.

Over the years, I’ve made this fruit cake many times – and always to raves.  I’ve given away the cake and the recipe more times than I could remember, and I’ve never found anyone who said that it wasn’t the best fruit cake they’d ever tasted – at least not to me.

But actually, it’s not fair to compare this to ordinary fruitcake, because just a glance at the recipe is enough to let you know that this one is quite different – first, there’s only a few key ingredients: pecans, cherries, and pineapple – unusual.  Next thing you notice is that there are no spices – hey, a Christmas cake with no spices?  And then you notice the butter – a lot of butter!  Most fruitcakes do not mess with so much butter.  But the thing that makes this fruitcake unique above all other differences is the utterly huge amount of vanilla and lemon extract it requires.

Yup, this is a different duck, but that’s exactly why I love it above all other fruitcakes.

For more than thirty years, I’d been making Mrs Harvey’s Fruitcake, but I knew nothing about who Mrs Harvey was – so I set out to do a little sleuthing.  What I discovered was that back in the ’50s, Lucile Harvey submitted a recipe to The Tampa Tribune for a fruitcake – she won $5 and second place!  But for the next several years, the newspaper got so many requests for that 2nd place fruitcake recipe that they finally reprinted it – and the popularity of that recipe has grown so much that Mrs Harvey’s White Fruitcake is now reprinted in the Trib each year right after Thanksgiving.  Mrs Harvey died in the mid ’80s, but her fruitcake recipe lives on as her memorial.

I think you’ll agree with me when I say that America is a collection place for 1000’s of bad fruitcakes and fruitcake recipes – but there are a few really good ones too.  I personally believe that The Collin Street Bakery in Corsicana, Texas, makes one of those good ones – but it ain’t cheap either!  Well, Mrs Harvey never claimed that this recipe was of her inspiration, and I always thought that it tasted a lot like Collin Street Bakery’s version – so perhaps Mrs Harvey was also impressed by the Texas fruitcake and adapted her own version.  I know that Mrs Harvey was quoted as saying that her husband did not like all the fruit in most fruitcakes, but that he loved pecans – and even Collin Street’s fruitcake has more kinds of fruit, and less pecans, than Mrs Harvey’s does.  And then there’s the vanilla and the lemon extract!  I have never seen such copious amounts of flavorings in any other fruitcake recipe – so I think we must credit Mrs Harvey with those adaptions.

So, without further ado, here’s Mrs Harvey’s White Fruitcake – a truly unique Christmas gem.  I hope you’ll give it a try.

Mrs Harvey’s White Fruitcake
The Tampa Tribune, Nov. 29, 2009

  • 4 cups shelled pecans
  • 1 pound candied cherries
  • 1 pound candied pineapple
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 pound butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 5 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 to 2 ounces vanilla extract (Your choice here as to amount – I go for the max, and it’s delicious!)
  • 1/2 to 2 ounces lemon extract  (Dito)

Chop nuts and fruit into medium-size pieces (save some whole for top of cake); dredge with 1/4 cup of flour. Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs. Sift together remaining flour and baking powder; fold into butter-egg mixture. Stir in vanilla and lemon extracts. Blend in fruit and nuts.

Grease a 10-inch tube pan (or other size pans – see note below).

Line with parchment, wax paper or foil; grease again. Pour batter into prepared pan or pans – place saved fruit and nuts on top. Place in cold oven and bake 2 1/2 to 3 hours in tube pan or 2 hours in 8 1/2-by-4 1/2-inch loaf pans at 250 degrees. Check cakes 1 hour before done and again 30 minutes before. When done, remove from oven; cool in pans on cake rack.

Makes 5 pounds of fruitcake.

Note: In 4 1/2-by-2 1/2-by-1 1/2-inch (baby) loaf pans, bake cake about 1 hour. For 1-pound cakes in 2-pound coffee cans, bake about 2 hours. In 5-ounce custard cups, bake about 1 hour. And in ungreased foil bonbon cups (with liners), bake about 30 minutes.

About drfugawe

I'm a guy with enough time to do as I please, and that my resources allow. The problem(s) are: I have 100s of interests; I have a short attention span; I have instant expectations; I'm lazy; and I'm broke. But I'm OK with all that, 'cause otherwise I'd be so busy, I'd be dead in a year.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Our Favorite Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Finally, A Fruitcake For Eating

  1. Mimi says:

    Looks delicious, but OMG! I just checked and that is a whole bottle of vanilla and a whole bottle of lemon extract! Insane! 😆

  2. drfugawe says:

    Yeah, I once had the same emotion – but that’s exactly why this is so different than other fruitcakes – you must try it, Mimi – 1/4 it if you are cautious – and do in a cupcake tin.

  3. Joanne says:

    I have never had a fruitcake that I like before. I can’t wait to try this! Sounds really good.

  4. drfugawe says:

    Joanne,
    I hope you do try it – and stop back and let us know what you think.

    Thanks for visiting.

  5. Pingback: America’s Food Secrets #9 – Hutzelbrod « The Lost World of Drfugawe

  6. Katie says:

    This is very similar to the recipe I have been searching for… thank you! I purged my own copy years ago when I was in some insane post Weight Watcher’s coma. Thank you for restoring delicious sanity to my life!!

  7. drfugawe says:

    Hi Katie,
    Thanks for visiting. Yeah, it’s mind-boggling how we allow ourselves to be pulled around by the food police! My sense is that if we can live long enough, lard will one day be a health food, and stuff like this fruitcake will take their place in the food chain of life’s absolute necessities.

    My current life credo: if you love it, and must have it, do so, but in moderation! Hope you get to enjoy this gem many, many times in your life!

    Enjoy the season.

  8. Ruth says:

    Years ago, my step father made a fruitcake, that I just loved…over the years, I have thought about it and never asked any of my family about it. Well its has on my mind for weeks and I asked my sister. All she could remember was White Fruitcake. So, I look and I found it….Thank you…tomorrow, I will make my own White Fruitcake. When I saw what was in it, I knew this was it.

    He would start making them in November and we could eat them at Christmas. He would lace them with some rum weekly…mmmmm they were good.

  9. Joanne says:

    My mother just passed away at 100 Years old. I can’t remember her not baking this fruit cake every Christmas. So here goes i’m not going to break the tradition. My father loved this cake. I loved this both . So here goes.

  10. drfugawe says:

    Ruth/Joanne,
    Hope this is the fruitcake of your memories, and that it brings some additional holiday joy this year.

    Enjoy.

  11. Barbara Stubblefield says:

    Do you make this ahead of time and wrap in a rum soaked cheesecloth for 2 to 4 weeks?

  12. MB says:

    My family has been making this fruitcake for years, and it is, indeed, fabulous. Recently, my mother has begun soaking the fruitcake (over a period of weeks) with alcohol. I think she uses brandy. Let me tell you — if you thought Mrs. Harvey’s cake was good as is — it is phenomenal soaked in brandy!

  13. drfugawe says:

    Hi Mary Beth,
    (Oh, that name holds such fond memory for me, for it was the name of one of my first real flames of my foolish youth.)

    Yup, I’ve experienced the rapture of which you speak – and shall again, I can assure you. It’s on my short list.

    Thanks for visiting, MB – and for stirring my memory bank.

  14. jacie morey says:

    overheard a lady in the store talking about making fruitcake, she volunteered the name, and here I am..I shall get the ingredients tomorrow and start my family another tradition. I certainly hope that the Tampa Tribune will honor the tradition of publishing the story and the recipe again the day after Thanksgiving. Our young generations need to have these traditions to be ongoing. thank you much.

  15. drfugawe says:

    My pleasure – and my hope as well. It’ll be a tradition worth the effort: is there any other kind? Enjoy.

  16. Pat Marcy says:

    I have been making this recipe since 1981, was mailed to me from a lady I met at a business meeting–a total stranger who heard me talking about wanting a fruit cake without all the spices and citron. I am so pleased you have shared the story of Mrs. Harvey, first time I have read it. Thanks!

  17. drfugawe says:

    Hi Pat,
    Thanks for the visit – back in Florida, among my foodie friends, Mrs Harvey is a Christmas hero of sorts, part of the local holiday heritage. Hope you enjoy this year’s holidays and some of Mrs Harvey’s cake too.

  18. Deborah says:

    I am a Tampa native from an old Cracker family . I grew up with a friend who took care of Mrs Harvey during a couple of her last years. This is the only fruitcake I’ll eat. In fact, we used this recipe for the groom’s cake at our wedding. The original receipe suggested wrapping the finished cake in a cloth slightly dampend with apricot brandy and placing in a cake tin. Take it out once a week (make it around Thanksgiving for Christmas) and re-dampen the cloth with brandy. OOOOOHHHHH !

  19. Cazz says:

    Doesn’t say anywhere, but do you have to refrigerate this cake while it ages?

  20. Jalaine says:

    I just made your fruitcake and it is DELICIOUS! Thank you for a wonderful recipe. One question, how do you store them?

  21. drfugawe says:

    Jalaine, Cazz,
    Thank you both for your comments and your interest in Mrs Harvey’s cake – please excuse my omission on storing the cake, which is certainly an important part. Deborah (third comment above, thank you Deborah) gives us a great way to store the cake – no, it does not need to be refrigerated, although many do anyway – and any form of alcoholic beverage (bourbon, rum, brandy or liqueur) may be used to brush or drizzle over the cake before wrapping it in plastic wrap or cloth, and covering all with aluminum foil and securing it in a cake tin – thus readied, the cake will not mold.
    Please enjoy the cake and the upcoming holidays with your families – and thank you all for your interest.

    • Nancy Peeples says:

      Thank you! I made this cake a couple of days ago and was wondering how long to keep it. I haven’t used any alcohol on it and it is stored in disposable loaf pans that have a plastic cover. Do I need to wrap it more tightly or store in the refrigerator?

  22. Fran Smart says:

    I just found this while looking for a recipe for Collin Street cake. It sounds wonderful, and all your comments are so good that I just have to make it! Only trouble is, my local supermarket in Devon, England, may not have the pineapple…

  23. Nicole says:

    Thank you for posting this recipe and the wonderful intro! I stumbled across your site when doing a search for fruit cakes. I have a traditional dark style that I’ve been making for a couple of years now, but thought this one sounded like a nice addition. Wonderful cake, indeed. I just finished making a second recipe and will be feeding it Cognac. It’s how I ‘treat’ the dark one as well and after feeding it every now and then and sitting it in a cool place and then the fridge for a year (yes, a year) it’s unreal. The alcohol becomes balanced with all the flavours from fruit and spice; it’s amazing. I’m hoping to get the same results from this one! Thanks again!

  24. drfugawe says:

    Hi Nicole, Well, your doing everything right. This is the way you make a good cake into something superb – Hope it makes the upcoming holidays more enjoyable for you and your family.

  25. Jr. says:

    This is the best fruit cake i have every eaten, i had lost the recipe last Christmas because we had a big move searched internet could no find the recipe again until today will no lose again i did cut back on lemon ext a little to strong.Thanks

  26. Rachael says:

    Hi there

    Thank you for a great story. I loathe English Christmas cake – it should join your 1000s of bad American fruitcakes!. But once, by chance, i had some Collin Street Bakery cake here in the UK. So I will be trying this one instead this year. Thanks again for the heartwarming story.

  27. Carol Gabel says:

    I can’t wait to make this fruitcake, it looks fabulous. I never liked the kind with the weird fruit peels and spices, but I think this will be wonderful. I was wondering when using a tube pan after it is inverted, how do you decorate the top with lots of cherries and pecans so they don’t fall off? I’m aiming for spectacular!

  28. Carol Gabel says:

    I can’t wait to make this fruitcake, it looks fabulous. I never liked the kind with the weird fruit peels and spices, but I think this will be wonderful. I was wondering when using a tube pan after it is inverted, how do you decorate the top with lots of cherries and pecans so they don’t fall off? I’m aiming for spectacular!

  29. Joseph B says:

    I grew up in Tampa and I remember my mother had this recipe on a handwritten note card in her cookbook. No idea if she got it from the Tribune or if she knew Mrs. Harvey. She made me a copy of it when I moved out for my cookbook and I’ve made it several times overs the years. It always brings back fond memories of growing up and even my friends who hate fruitcakes will happily eat this one.

  30. Ilovefruitcake says:

    I think I finally found the pound cake as good as one I had a sample of years ago! It’s baking right now . I tasted the batter, YUM! The consistency seams just right , lot’s of nuts and fruit with a small amount of sweet pound cake like batter. I followed the recipe all except I used cherry extract with the vanilla. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  31. ~Andi I. says:

    So very delicious! I have won my husband over with this one. I will “pin” no ther one that I’ve found this one! Thank you so much for posting the recipe!

  32. Bev says:

    OMG this fruitcake is the best ever. My mother-in-law would make this every year. The secret is to make at least 1 month before the holidays so all that lemon and vanilla extract can meld together and then the flavorings and the pecans have a wonderful flavor together. I am following her tradition yearly.

  33. Donna says:

    How many 4 1/2 x 2 1/2 x 1 1/2 loads does this recipe make??

  34. Donna says:

    How many 4 1/2 x 2 1/2 x 1 1/2 loads does this recipe make??

  35. Donna says:

    Excuse me, how many 4 1/2 x 2 1/2 x 1 1/2 ‘loaves’ does this recipe make??

  36. Linda Kaster says:

    This was the best. I did have people eat it that did like fruitcake they thought it was delicious.

  37. I’m so pleased to have found this page – a long time ago, when I lived in England, I was gifted a Collin Street Bakery fruitcake, and I’ve been thinking about that cake ever since. I’ve made many different fruitcakes over the years, but nothing quite compared. I’ll try your Mrs Harvey’s recipe as soon as I can get my hands on some pecans!
    Thank you!

  38. Tricecango says:

    Loved your story! Growing up in Tampa, in mid-60’s early 70’s, this was my mom’s go to every Christmas( plus my dad worked for the Tribune for decades!) I got daring and made it just last week, had to amazon some of the candied fruit, but it was so worth it. I gave it a couple of days soaking in Grand Mariner, yum!!!
    Just tasting it takes me back to the Holidays and man do I miss my mom. Merry Christmas all!

  39. Bonnie says:

    White fruit cake is the good one I love! This is so similar I’m sure its good!

Leave a comment